top of page

Why Google Classroom


"One thing at a time" has been my motto the past two years. There is much to learn when starting a career in education, but this year (even with moving across the country) I feel like I am approaching things with a dive right in mentality.

I knew what a great experience it was to collaborate with colleagues via Google Drive, but I was not ready (in the past) to implement Google Classroom with my students. This year was another story...I am sure having enough Chromebooks for all of my students was a huge reason why.

My reasons for using Google Classroom:

1. Collaboration. Students and I comment on work in real time, instead of days later. Students are able to share their work with me and others.

2. Technology. Plain and simple we live in a time where everything is done online through computers, phones, or tablets. Kids are quite technologically savvy.

3. Engagement. Students have been so engaged in their work since I introduced Google Classroom and they love to see when I am checking in on their work (it shows them that I am on). Students ask to do writing now.

4. We can have a class discussion or survey.

5. Equity. All students can access the same assignment and content in all classes because teachers can create something on Google and share with the team.

bottom of page